Denials Truths…

UGHHHHHH.

Wow, what a perfectly fitting anagram. I saw Shutter Island this morning (well, 12:01am).][EDIT] I let this sit in drafts far too long, ah well.] It has me thinking about anagrams a lot… another fitting one?

find muck.

Unfortunately, due to me loving the night life I’ve had a grand total of 12 hours sleep since Tuesday morning and I promptly fell asleep during the first forty minutes of the movie.

Normally I would be saddened by something like this as I’ve been awaiting this film for some time but I honestly can’t say I feel like I missed much, sure there was some missing ‘plot points’ but I came away feeling like I had seen a nice, condensed version, I was left very satisfied.

To borrow from Sum-41 – All killer, no filler.

Sorry, I need a minute to get over the fact I just referenced Sum-41 and I don’t feel ashamed of myself.

The acting was amazing; I haven’t been so connected with a character since Daniel Day Lewis morphed into Daniel Plainview in There Will Be Blood, Leonardo DiCaprio was incredible to say the least. I’ve never been a fan of Mark Ruffalo but he freaking nailed it here. Ben Kingsley is always good, certainly no exception here.

I’ve been hearing a lot of reports that people don’t feel this is a great Sorcese movie; that it doesn’t live up to the directors name – Personally, I think he did an incredible job, he took a genre that I typically wouldn’t care for (Reminds me too much of my mothers ‘thriller’ novels) and turned it into a visually stunning, creepy and exciting tale. I don’t know if you’ve ever seen me sleep but I knock the fuck out. I’m like a bear hibernating, yet once the plot train left the station and the movie started playing out, I snapped awake and was left on the edge of my seat until the credits rolled. That has to count for something, right?

End result: Go see the movie. If you’re lucky, I might go see it with you.

I’ll give the movie a thumbs up and a high-five; because numerical ratings suck.

Leave a Reply

