The Final Countdown!

Do you hear the song playing in your head? You should.

I decided I’ve had enough of this commuting, it’s been going on since the beginning of November, which may not seem like a long time to some people but driving 200+ miles a day can really bring you down…

Let’s think about this:

As of April 30, 2010 (My last day of work) there will have been 114 days of work since I moved back to San Diego.

114 days x 200 miles per day = 22,8000 miles (my poor, poor car).

22,800 miles / 325 miles per fill-up (average) @ $40 = $2,806.15 in gas.

5 oil changes @ $60 a piece (damn v-dub) and three new tires @ $100 a piece = $500.00

$3,306.15 just in commuting expenses!

Energy drinks consumed: About one a day, sometimes two. Yay.

Times I’ve fallen asleep at the wheel: Three. Terrifying, every time. Eventually learned that if I get tired enough to just pull over and go for a quick walk, gets the blood bumping.

Times almost in an accident: Six.

Times in an accident: Once. Interestingly enough, it wasn’t even on the freeway, sheesh.

Tires blown mid-drive and replaced by me: Two. /flex

Times pulled over: Zero. /knocks on wood.

Average day: Leave home at 6:00AM and get home at 7:00PM.

Times I got home on a Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday and still saw the sun up, before DST: Four times.

So what did I do? Well, I told my work I was leaving. I’m here until April 30th, so that I can help train my replacement and leave amicably. Everyone seems pretty understanding, and while I’ll miss the people, and the money, it’s not worth it to continue doing this, it’s far too detrimental to me, physically and mentally.

What am I going to do? I don’t know, I’ve got nothing lined up, but as far as I see it, as long as I’m happy, who cares?

I have a year before I can start the Radiology program at Mesa so I’ll make do until then – hoping much better off then I’ve been!

I do plan on taking at least a small break between jobs (unless I find something right away) and spending some time at the beach, lanning and go in to my girlfriends med classes to be a guinea pig. :D

Leave a Reply

